Tuesday Morning Baking Urge

Blueberry boredom busters

I woke up this morning and my kitchen was still a mess from last night’s blackened chick-noa disaster.  Failure begets laziness, what can I say?  So what’s my first thought?  LET’S BAKE SOME COOKIES!  Obviously.  What is my life?

Since I had fresh blueberries, these Brown Sugar Blueberry Cookies were a must.  The thing I like about baking is that I almost always have everything on hand without having to run to the store.  Which is perfect when you wake up on a Tuesday morning with a baking urge.

Anyway, I followed the recipe pretty much as stated.  I ran out of light brown sugar and had to sub in dark brown sugar for about 1/8 a cup.  Today I wasn’t doing laundry so sitting the stick of butter on the deck to bring it to room temperature did the trick.  The recipe didn’t state to mix the dry ingredients first or to cream the butter before adding the sugar, but I did both of those things since almost all other cookies I’ve made recently have called for that.  Couldn’t hurt.  You have to refrigerate the dough for half an hour, which was the perfect amount of time to clean up my disastrous kitchen.  Also, the cleaning was the perfect activity to distract me from wanting to grab the dough and plop it in the oven ASAP.  Two birds, ya know?

As I’ve said before, I like my cookies a little underdone, so I usually go for the lower end of the baking time.  This time I went for 10 minutes.  The cookies were browning on the bottom, so I decided to pull them out to see if they were done.  They were not.

But they were still delicious!

Back into the oven they went…for a couple of minutes, then I gave in and took them out.  I left the next batch in the oven for around 13-14 minutes, which was much better.  Still soft and moist, but not oozing dough from the center.

I really like these cookies.  I’m not sure that J would, which is why they’re not part of the Summer Cookie Project.  The brown sugar flavor is subtle, letting the blueberries really shine.  These are perfect for a breakfast cookie.  If you were going to eat a cookie for breakfast…I mean, who does that?  Not me.  Me.  I ended up with 12 cookies total, which was the perfect amount.  I will try to save at least one cookie for J to try when he gets home on Friday.  But I’m not promising anything.

Leave a Reply

