Work What Ya Got

Hello, my lovelies

Today’s Summer Cookie Project (SCP) cookies were a spur-of-the-moment baking endeavor.  After making raspberry waffles (with Bisquick, so although they were delicious, they don’t deserve a post) and laying around in my snuggie for a couple of hours, I decided to clean up the kitchen.  Then after cleaning up the kitchen, I decided to mess it up again.  Duh.

I didn’t really plan ahead any particular cookie to make, but I happened to have some mini chocolate chips in the freezer, so that heavily influenced my decision.  I ended up making the famous Milk and Cookies chocolate chip cookies from, you guessed it, the Milk and Cookies cookbook.  Buying that book was a wise investment.  I decided to halve the recipe since J and I don’t need 30 cookies every week.

Anyway, luckily I had everything on hand.  Only two problems:  the butter needed to be room temperature, and I somehow needed to convert a Ghirardelli dark chocolate bar into chocolate shavings/curls.  What to do, what to do.  I didn’t want to microwave the butter because then it would be too melted, and I didn’t want to use a knife to make the curls because I would inevitably chop my hand off.  The clear solution was to put the butter on top of the clothes dryer (which was on) and to use a vegetable peeler to make the chocolate curls.  While holding the chocolate with a paper towel so it didn’t turn into a melty mess.  Obviously.  This week’s SCP cookies brought to you by laundry and a vegetable peeler.  Awesome.

Both totally worked, and I was left with some pretty awesome chocolate chip cookies.  The chocolate curls melted throughout the cookies, like little delicious flecks of chocolate confetti.  I ended up cutting down on the baking time from 15 minutes to 13 minutes because the first batch came out a little crumbly.  I like my cookies a little underdone anyway (salmonella, shmalmonella).  Thirteen minutes ended up being perfect.  These are actually the only cookies I’ve ever had that taste better when they’ve had time to cool.  They were good right out of the oven, but the semisweet and dark chocolates meshed better once cooled.  After halving the recipe, I ended up with 15 cookies, which was perfect.  We ate three during the baking process, and I sent six off with J when he left for school, leaving me with six cookies for myself.  Of which I’ve already eaten two.  Let’s see how many more last through the night…

2 thoughts on “Work What Ya Got

  1. Pingback: Quin-WHAT? | Ky Cooks

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Morning Baking Urge | Ky Cooks

Leave a Reply

