Butterscotch for the Win

Image

Half-eaten Scotchie

I like to think that this Summer Cookie Project (SCP) is an act of selflessness.  Not because I’m baking for J (because I like excuses to bake), but because I’ve been picking cookies with J’s taste in mind.  If it were up to me, I would have immediately baked something with as much peanut butter and as much chocolate as possible.  But I haven’t even touched a peanut butter recipe yet.  See?  Totally selfless : )

This monumental act of kindness is what led me to choose Scotchies as my first real cookie for the SCP.  J is a huge butterscotch fan, and his all-time favorite cookies (so far) are oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  A cookie that combines both butterscotch and oatmeal was the obvious choice.  Again, I turned to Milk and Cookies (mentioned in an earlier post) for the recipe.

I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that my bag of butterscotch chips was just shy of the two cups required.  Also, instead of stirring in the chips last, I added them in as I kneaded the dough.  I think either way would work, as this dough is less stiff than the sugar cookie dough.  Finally, after the first batch, I took a minute off of the baking time (14 minutes instead of 15) to make them a little chewier.

I have only three words:  Oh. My. Goodness.  I don’t even normally like butterscotch that much, but Scotchies are my new favorite cookie.  The cookies spread a bit, but to the amount that I would imagine they’re supposed to; they look like cookies you would get in a bakery.  And they are HUGE.  And they are chewy.  And they are delicious.  The perfect amount of butterscotch, combined with the oatmeal and a hint of cinnamon…these are to die for.  Even better, they go perfectly with coffee.  I could see myself eating these for breakfast (dangerous!).

J hasn’t tried these yet, but if he doesn’t like them, then, well, more for me!  Another win for Milk and Cookies.  These are going to be hard to top.

Leave a Reply

