Long Time, No Cook

Image

Soooo I definitely have not been cooking.  Combine the end of the school year with good weather and a bf who is willing to grill out, and…where’s the motivation?

I finally got around to assembling something today, which I’m going to count as “cooking.”  I’ve been on a berry kick recently, and had the idea to pick up some spinach, walnuts, and feta to assemble a berry-spinach-vinaigrette salad.  No recipe, just tossing some things together.

I added:

  • Baby spinach
  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Chopped walnuts
  • Crumbled feta
  • Raspberry vinaigrette

This was DELICIOUS.  I was ravenous by the time lunch rolled around, because I forgot to bring snacks to work today.  I was thinking about snagging something from the snack box in the lounge, but didn’t have enough change to buy anything.  This salad totally filled me up.  The vinaigrette was amazing.  I used Olde Cape Cod, which upon inspection of the nutrition label, has sugar listed as the second ingredient.  Which may explain why it was so tasty. Either way, I enjoyed the salad.

I would like to explore homemade raspberry vinaigrette recipes in the future, especially with easy access to fresh local berries at the farmers’ market.  But for now, store-bought will do.  And I’m definitely making this salad again.

Leave a Reply

