Sneaky Quinoa

Sometimes I like to see if I can slip a healthy recipe by J and see if he notices.  Once, he told me that the spinach-chicken meatballs that I made tasted “too healthy.”  Since then, I haven’t tried another ground chicken recipe.  Until now….dun dun DUN!

I was originally planning on making another recipe from Ambitious Kitchen (the sweet potato & chicken Mexican stirfry), but I saw this one for Enchilada Chicken and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers and was sold.  Anything I can mush up and shove into the oven always wins.

I followed the recipe as stated, except for leaving out the cilantro and adding in jalapenos.  I was a little worried about not cooking the meat beforehand, but the recipe turned out really well, and the meat was fully cooked.  It was moist and flavorful, and J didn’t even notice that there was quinoa in there (bwahaha).  The enchilada sauce really helped make the dish, and as far as canned sauces go, it’s surprisingly healthy, with few ingredients (and no weird chemicals).

The verdict?  I would make it again.  It was a nice “set it and forget it” type of dish.  I think I would add hotter enchilada sauce next time (I used mild here).  And I’m curious to see how it holds up for left-overs.  But all in all, I call a win.

One thought on “Sneaky Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Quin-WHAT? | Ky Cooks

Leave a Reply

